none
C# 3.0 - Write to MS Access or SQL Server database in a multiuser environment RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys,

I need to create an application that reads from and writes to a database in a multiuser environment.

I am having problems to understand what I should do with the part of the application that writes to mydb. I don't even know where to start.

Do I need to implement a semaphore to enable writing to the db? (If yes, do you have any example?).

Do I need to create a TcpClient connection?

Do I just try to write to the database (using the code below) letting the database program (Access / SQL Server) managing everything?

Please take in consideration that I am just a beginner.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Aldo.

Code Snippet

// Update data to my MS Access Table

private static void UpdateTable()

{

string conn = @"Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;" + @"Data Source=C:\...\myDB.accdb";

// SQL command

string sSQLCommand1 = "DROP TABLE myTable";

string sSQLCommand2 = "CREATE TABLE myTable (ID AutoIncrement, myID int NOT NULL, Name VarChar(40) NOT NULL)";

string sSQLCommand3 = "INSERT INTO myTable (myID, Name) VALUES (4, 'my name')";

string sSQLCommand4 = "UPDATE myTable SET Name = 'Updated Name' WHERE myID = 4";

string sSQLCommand5 = "DELETE FROM myTable WHERE Name = 'Updated Name'";

// Create the connection

using (OleDbConnection myConnection = new OleDbConnection(conn))

{

// Create the command object

using (OleDbCommand cmmd = new OleDbCommand(sSQLCommand1, myConnection))

{

myConnection.Open();

// Execute the SQL command

cmmd.ExecuteNonQuery();

myConnection.Close();

}

}

}

Sunday, April 27, 2008 2:25 PM

Answers

• To my understanding in .net Semaphores is something related to multi threading.

TCPClient is not used for database related operation. 

If you want to provide your application to support different databases like sql,access,oracle etc...you can take of .Net 2.0 and use dbprovider factory.