Problem with Robotics Tutorial 5 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to MRDS, and hope I'm posting this in the right section. I am currently working through the tutorials, and facing a problem with Robotics Tutorial 5 right off the bat, where I'm asked to run the project using the DSS command prompt. I've not edited anything from the tute.

I'm getting a whole list of warnings and errors. Here's the first warning:

** Common Create Handler ExceptionSystem.InvalidOperationException: Service not found: http://schemas.microsoft.com/robotics/2006/06/arcosbumper.html at Microsoft.Dss.Services.Serializer.DataCache.LoadServiceAssemblies(ServiceInfoType createRequest) at Microsoft.Dss.Services.Constructor.ConstructorService.CommonCreateHandler(DsspOperation create)

The error that follows is:

*** Error creating service. Service type:http://schemas.microsoft.com/robotics/2006/06/arcosbumper.html

I'm getting the same warnings and errors for arcosdrive.html and arcoscore.html as well. 

I am currently using MRDS 4 with Visual Studio 2010 Premium.

Can anyone please help? 

Thanks

Wednesday, June 5, 2013 2:47 AM

Answers

• I can try :)

You essentially need to make a manifest that includes the simulated Pioneer along with the Explorer service which you're working on in Tutorial 5. The manifest that comes with the tutorial expects real hardware.

I'd start by making a copy of the MobileRobots.P3DX.Simulation.manifest.xml since it has a lot of what you want. Change the project properties (Debug > Command line arguments) to use this copied manifest.

Next, migrate over the Explorer stuff from the manifest that comes with the tutorial project. You want the ServiceRecordType for the Explorer service. Of course, you'll need to copy the namespace declaration (xmlns:explorer="...") as well.