locked
Merge files history RRS feed

  • Question

  •   By mistake I created new project not using share and branch but getting all files from one project and creating new project using these files.As result I lost files history in new project.

    Is it possible somehow merge files history from these two projects so second project will show history for all files from first project + changes made for new project?

    Friday, August 31, 2012 11:52 AM

Answers

  • Have you made a lot of changes in that newly added project folder?  If not (or there are just a few changes you could re-do), you're best bet is to delete (and purge) the add, and then do the Share/Branch from your original source.

    Jeff Clausius - SourceGear

    Need to modernize your VSS toolset with almost no learning curve? Take a look at SourceGear Vault




    Friday, August 31, 2012 2:07 PM
  • Hi Vlad,

    You may do it manually by following the steps: check out the old prj, get the key versions of the new project you need and check in. 

    Catherine Sea
    TFS Hosting | Version Control Solutions

    Monday, September 3, 2012 3:34 AM

All replies

  • Have you made a lot of changes in that newly added project folder?  If not (or there are just a few changes you could re-do), you're best bet is to delete (and purge) the add, and then do the Share/Branch from your original source.

    Jeff Clausius - SourceGear

    Need to modernize your VSS toolset with almost no learning curve? Take a look at SourceGear Vault




    Friday, August 31, 2012 2:07 PM
  • Hi Vlad,

    You may do it manually by following the steps: check out the old prj, get the key versions of the new project you need and check in. 

    Catherine Sea
    TFS Hosting | Version Control Solutions

    Monday, September 3, 2012 3:34 AM