Play h264 encoded video in MP4 or Matroska containers at speeds greater than 2 times normal. RRS feed

• Question

• I have been struggling with playing video on windows 7 and up at speeds greater than 2 times normal, I have tried various things with limited success, here is summary of what I have tried and the results I received, please bear with me as the question and summary of the problem is lengthy, my ultimate aim is to play this h264 footage in an MP4 container(correctly configured for streaming i.e. moov atom e.t.c.) using html5 "<video>" tag (no browser plugins) via streaming using internet explorer 8 , 9 or 10(we can ignore 8 if its not officially supported) (I use mod_h264. for streaming)

The video is security footage stored in h264 format in Matroska containers, there are no audio streams. Here are the facts/behaviours/things I tried from my various attempts. I have basic to intermediate knowledge

Video is 2.5 frames per second, keyframe every 36.4 seconds(91 frames), I see nothing wrong with this but please let me know if this is a concern, I asked for a frame rate lower than the normal ones from the camera manufacturers and got this. Now for the symptoms.

Tried various codecs and container format readers, microsoft build in ones, coreavc 2.6 for h264, ffdshow for mp4 and h264, haali splitter for matroska. I convert between container formats using ffmpeg. I only use MP4 for streaming. I tried multiple machines with Nvidia and ATI video card drivers with various codec settings for cpu or gpu acceleration on or off.

1. Windows XP or Windows 7 plays video fine at all speeds in AVI format from local disk. I cannot stream this format. Didn't try win8

2. Win7 or Win8, when playing video from disk using Matroska or MP4 via streaming using Media Player or IE9/10 I cannot fast forward greater than 2 times, video speeds up for a few seconds then freezes but the player continues as if its playing correctly.