none
Navigate to Page in another DLL

Question

• I am working on an application that I want it to be able to display a page (xaml) from another DLL. I have a common libray I am creating that is used for our WCF services and setting up the users username and password for that service. I don't want to have to copy and paste these pages to all of my applications so I am trying to create this common library.

The problem I am having is I don't know how to navigate to that page in the other DLL. This is most like a noob question as I am pretty new to Silverlight and WP7 development, but it seems like it should be possible.

So lets say I have my main application Assembly1 with a PIN.xaml page in it. I want it to be able to call and navigate to the page UserSetup.xaml in Assembly2.dll

Thanks for any help,
    Eric
    Monday, November 29, 2010 7:59 PM

Answers

All replies

• You should be able to reference it using a pack Uri.

Something like this: new Uri("pack://application:,,,/<assembly name>;component/<path to page including file name>");

Edit:
    Here is a blog post explaining it in detail. http://www.davidpoll.com/2009/07/12/silverlight-3-navigation-navigating-to-pages-in-referenced-assemblies/

Also, it looks like in Silverlight, you don't need the "application:,,," declaration.
    Monday, November 29, 2010 8:14 PM
  • It could be me, but I can't get this to work. I will try with a small scale project.
    Monday, November 29, 2010 10:16 PM
  • Can you paste the snippet where you are trying to use it?
    Monday, November 29, 2010 10:25 PM
  • Well I tried many variations of what you described.

I tried:

this.NavigationService.Navigate(new Uri("pack://application:,,,/dotTime.WP.JobClockNET;component/UI/JobClockNET.xaml", UriKind.RelativeOrAbsolute));
    this.NavigationService.Navigate(new Uri("/dotTime.WP.JobClockNET;component/UI/JobClockNET.xaml", UriKind.RelativeOrAbsolute));