none
Auto Increment Not Working - SQL Identity field RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Visual Basic & SQL server but have some experience in Access & VBA. But this is a steep learning curve!

I am banging my head against a wall with a problem..

All of my tables in this database are in the dataset. The main one being tblItems with a PK 'ITEMID'

I have 2 forms - the first one is used to lookup an item the second displays the item's full details.

On the first form (lookup) I have a 'Add New' button which launches the second form with the code - frmProductDetail.VItemsBindingSource.AddNew()

This opens the form with empty boxes as expected. I have a 'Save' button on the second form with the following code -

Dim row As SASHItemsDataSet.tblItemsRow
            row = SASHItemsDataSet.tblItems.NewRow
            With row
                .ITEMCODE = txtItemCode.Text
                .ITEMDESCRIPTION = txtItemDescription.Text
                .CATEGORY = cmbItemCategory.SelectedValue
                .PURCHCOST = txtPurchCost.Text
                .SELLCOST = txtSellPrice.Text
                .UNIT = cmbUOM.SelectedValue
                .VATID = cmbVAT.SelectedValue
                .WHLOCATION = cmbWHLoc.SelectedValue
            End With

SASHItemsDataSet.tblItems.Rows.Add()

Try
                Me.Validate()
                Me.VItemsBindingSource.EndEdit()

Catch ex As Exception
                MsgBox(ex.Message, MsgBoxStyle.Critical + MsgBoxStyle.OkOnly, "UPDATE FAILED")
            End Try

My problem is I get the error msg box with the following error 'Column 'ITEMID' does not allow nulls'

This field is set as a auto incrementing identity field with all the correct settings shown in Visual Studio so it shouldn't be coming back as null.

I have Googled for hours & tried all sorts with no luck..

I have clearly gone wrong somewhere but I can't work out where... any help appreciated!

James

Friday, April 24, 2015 3:07 PM

Answers