none
Accessing SQL table from C# application gives error-40 RRS feed

• General discussion

•  

HI,

I am new to SQL and C#. I am trying to connect to a SQL table which is a on a database named Math_Solve using a C# application.

I wrote the codes after reading a few threads on the internet. My IP/TCP is enabled. firewall allows SQL and I am using windows authentification. My servername and user name in the SQL express log in do not mtach though(Is that a problem???). I am using SQL server express  2008 R2 and visual studio 2010 for this work. 

Please help me to solve the problem.. many thanks in advance..

The error:

A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server)

The code I have written:

using

System;

using

System.Data.SqlClient;

class

Demo

{

public static void Main(string

[] args){

try

{

SqlCommand comm = new SqlCommand

();

comm.Connection =

new SqlConnection("Data Source=(local);" + "Initial Catalog=Math_Solve;" + "Persist Security Info = true; Integrated Security = SSPI;"

);

String sql =

@"SELECT Number,

FROM Math_Solve

"

;

comm.CommandText = sql;

comm.Connection.Open();

SqlDataReader

cursor = comm.ExecuteReader();

while

(cursor.Read())

Console.WriteLine(cursor["Number"] + "\t"

);

comm.Connection.Close();

}

catch (Exception

e){

Console

.WriteLine(e.ToString());

Console

.Read();

}

}

}

Thank you very much

Please help me.

Nick

• Changed type NickTom Saturday, June 11, 2011 6:34 AM getting more suitable answers
    • Changed type NickTom Saturday, June 11, 2011 6:36 AM more suitable answers
    • Moved by VMazurModerator Tuesday, June 14, 2011 10:52 AM (From:ADO.NET DataSet)
    Saturday, May 28, 2011 1:55 PM

All replies