Updating one SQL table based on results of another... RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I will start by saying I am fairly new to SQL (less than 24 hours).

I have 2 tables, InventoryItem and InventoryItemWebOption. I need to update a column in InventoryItemWebOption called 'published' based on a result in both tables. The value will need to be set to '1' based on InventoryItem.ManufacturerCode = 'X' and InventoryItemWebOption.WebSiteCode = 'Y'.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to get me started?

Many thanks,

Jamie @ Fuzion

Thursday, April 14, 2011 11:32 AM

Answers

• Hi Jamie_Fuzion,

You should confirm the relationship between InventoryItem and InventoryItemWebOption tables first. Does there have a Foreign Key Constraints? Try to post the DDL statements of your table structures then we can make a better investigation.

Best Regards,
    Stephanie Lv

Friday, April 15, 2011 11:12 AM
  • Jamie,

I agree with Stephanie in it would be much better that you will post your DDL.

try following:

Update InventoryItemWebOption 
    Set Published = 1 
    From 
      InventoryItemWebOption 
      Inner Join InventoryItem On InventoryItemWebOption.InventoryItem = InventoryItem.Inventory 
    Where InventoryItem.ManufacturerCode = 'X' and InventoryItemWebOption.WebSiteCode = 'Y'

Best Wishes, Arbi --- MCC 2011; Please vote if you find this posting was helpful or Mark it as answered.
    Friday, April 15, 2011 4:18 PM

All replies

• I suggest you read up on nested subqueries.

Here's an article to get you started:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms189575(v=SQL.100).aspx

Thursday, April 14, 2011 1:16 PM
  • Thank you for this. I guess this may be a little too advanced for me at the moment!

I am fairly new to SQL and have grasped a little, just didnt expect this to be so difficult.

Thanks again,

Jamie

Thursday, April 14, 2011 2:35 PM
  • Update InventoryItemWebOption 
    Set Published = 1 
    From 
        InventoryItemWebOption