none
C# Updating multiple xml files using Parallel.ForEach RRS feed

• Question

• Now i am updating large multiple files in foreach loop which is taking time. so curious to know can i use Parallel.ForEach to update multiple large xml files simultaneously but do not want to use Lock()

I am new in Parallel.ForEach so scared for race condition and improper updation of xml file. data should not overlap in files. here is one sample code. so please guys see my code and tell me does my code work fine in production ?

List<string> listoffiles = new List<string>();
        listoffiles.Add(@"d:\test1.xml");
        listoffiles.Add(@"d:\test2.xml");
        listoffiles.Add(@"d:\test3.xml");

var options = new ParallelOptions { MaxDegreeOfParallelism = Environment.ProcessorCount * 10 };
        Parallel.ForEach(listoffiles, options, (filepath) =>
        {
            XDocument xmlDoc = XDocument.Load(filepath);

//query 10QK xml data based on section & lineitem
                var items = (from item in xmlDoc.Descendants("TickerBrokerStandardDateLineitemValue")
                             where item.Element("TabName").Value.Trim() == data.Section
                             && item.Element("StandardLineItem").Value.Trim() == data.LineItem
                             select item).ToList();

foreach (var item in items)
                {
                    //element will be inserted or updated in xml when match found
                    if (item.Element("SectionID") == null)
                    {
                        //if SectionID element does not exist then it will be added in xml having ID 
                        item.Add(new XElement("SectionID", data.SectionID));
                    }
                    else
                    {
                        //if SectionID element exist then it will be updated with db value
                        item.Element("SectionID").SetValue(data.SectionID);
                    }