Complete newbie jumping into a huge project! RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hi there,
    I have a limited programming knowledge in `DarkBasic`, but I know I need to learn otehr languages and concepts to accomplish what I am endeavouring to achieve.
    If you take a look at my website, www.input-inc.com. you will see what sort of task I am facing!

I need to be able ( enventually ) to have the robot `semi-autonomous`.
    Ok, I know the list below goes on & on and most are VERY complex, but I still write below it all as I can dream too!
    By that I mean I want the robot to :

A: React via movement / sound depending on inputs.
    B: Run set routines of movment / sound selected by the `user` or dependant on inputs.
    C: Run `random` routines occasionally - to `try to simluate random personality` ( I plan this idea to have a program that auto creates a random     movement/sound sequence, checking for collision via its own simulation and/sensors, before running the movement )
    D: Have some features overidden with remote control from the user.
    E: The list can (and will) go on!

The first thing I`ll say is how I plan to have the robot setup :

I want to have at least one onboard PC; if more, I plan to have one to serve and control some of the features, and the other(s) to be clients and control other features, connected wirelessly (reason for wireless is to minimise the wires between the upper & lower body).
    I plan to have a LCD screen, and usb for mouse/keyboard on board for accesability.