none
Replacing CAPICOM in VBA & VBScript RRS feed

• Question

• No idea whether this is the correct forum category, because my query spans a number of areas. Please also understand that I am not a professional developer.

About 12 years ago I had a licensing scheme in Excel VBA that protected certain ActiveX controls when the final workbook was sent to customers by using a license key.  The license was generated from an ASP using FrontPage 2003 and VBScript.  The whole process has worked perfectly since it was written, and the code was trivial:

CAPICOM - License Generation (VBScript)

'* Create the Microsoft CAPICOM EncryptedData object

Set objCrypto = CreateObject("CAPICOM.EncryptedData")

'* Use the Microsoft CAPICOM interface to encrypt the data

objCrypto.Content = strLicenseText

objCrypto.Algorithm = CAPICOM_ENCRYPTION_ALGORITHM_AES

Call objCrypto.SetSecret(strPassword, CAPICOM_SECRET_PASSWORD)

strLicenseKey = objCrypto.Encrypt(CAPICOM_ENCODE_BASE64)

CAPICOM – License Check (VBA)

Dim objCrypto As New EncryptedData      ' Microsoft CAPICOM Interface

Call objCrypto.SetSecret(strPassword)

objCrypto.Algorithm = CAPICOM_ENCRYPTION_ALGORITHM_AES

Call objCrypto.Decrypt(strCryptText)

strPlainText = CStr(objCrypto.Content)

the whole technique only took about half a day to develop and test.

Now Microsoft have not only deprecated the CAPICOM SDK, but now removed its download link so I can no longer send the workbook to customers with the macro and ActiveX controls I want the customers to still be able to use as I have a "Reference" to the "CAPICOM v2.1 Type Library" in the workbook.  All the alternatives to replace this functionality looked extremely painful, so I first decided on:

• Win32 CryptoAPI for the VBA