none
Save position of right hand as "home"-position RRS feed

• Question

• When the Kinect has tracked my right hand (JointType.HandRight), I want it to save the current position of the hand as a "home"-position which later can be referred to when for example my right hand moves to the right from the "home"-position. I'm a novice in programming and would highly appreciate code for show and an explanation (and note if there's anything in the existing code that's wrong or missing)! Thanks!

// Find the right hand joint
            IList<Microsoft.Kinect.Body> bodies;
            void Reader_MultiSourceFrameArrived(object sender, MultiSourceFrameArrivedEventArgs e)
            {
                var reference = e.FrameReference.AcquireFrame();
                using (var frame = reference.BodyFrameReference.AcquireFrame())
                {
                    if (frame != null)
                    {
                        bodies = new Microsoft.Kinect.Body[frame.BodyFrameSource.BodyCount];

frame.GetAndRefreshBodyData(bodies);

foreach (var body in bodies)
                        {
                            if (body != null)
                            {
                                if (body.IsTracked)
                                {
                                    // Find the joint
                                    Joint handRight = body.Joints[Microsoft.Kinect.JointType.HandRight];

// Around here maybe having the code which saves the current position as "home"

}
                            }
                        }
                    }
                }
            }

Monday, April 13, 2015 9:39 AM

All replies

• You can just create a variable for storing that info:

IList<Microsoft.Kinect.Body> bodies;
    Joint homeRightHandPosition;
    void Reader_MultiSourceFrameArrived(object sender, MultiSourceFrameArrivedEventArgs e)
    {
    //...
    if(body.IsTracked)
    {
    homeRightHandPosition = body.Joints[JointType.HandRight];
    }
    //...