Add XSD to ItemTemplate RRS feed

• Question

• I've created an ItemTemplate which works as expected but what i'd like to do is set the Schema to a custom XSD

Ive seen some things about registering the namespace so that VS knows automatically and reads from the cache but i'd prefer to have this all isolated to the ItemTemplate (zip file) itself if possible, can this be done?

I dug around the TemplateContent but none of that seemed to do what i wanted. 

I did find a few posts on here but none of them seemed to be what I was looking for. Most of what I have seen has been partial answers (or just not enough detail for me, since im really new to this).

Thanks,

Justin

Friday, September 5, 2014 8:42 PM

Answers

• Sorry, no, what i mean is i've created an ItemTemplate project that is basically for an XML file. I'd like to provide an XSD to the end user to help them create the xml files easier.

I've managed to find some older references (vs2010) saying its not currently possible and planed for newer versions, but I havent see anything in reference to 2013, I assume it cant be done without doing what you suggested with the wizard and extract and dump it in manually.

Based on your second link i might be able to add the XSD as part of the new item and then modify the XML template to include something like 

xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="myCustom.xsd"

• Marked as answer by Caillen Tuesday, September 16, 2014 9:42 AM
    Wednesday, September 10, 2014 6:58 PM
  • I prefer this method too. Create a custom XML and add the schema location in it. Include the schema file into the Item Template so that when you deploy this Item Template, the schema file will be deployed as well.

About how to create a mult-files Item Template, please check this MSDN document:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms247115.aspx