Is this enough info to create a client / proxy? RRS feed

• Question

• Pretty sure I know the answer to this, but i'll ask anyway since i'm new to WCF.

I have a service (which I did not create) that allows users to login and retrieve the data necessary to consume other services.

It returns the following:

• Contract name
    • Contract namespace
    • Extension data
    • Relative location

Here's the class that holds the info: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh310509

I don't see how this can be used to create a proxy. Don't I need an interface class to use with ChannelFactory to do that? I can't use svcutil as the services require login to consume.

Sunday, August 5, 2012 9:34 PM

Answers

• You don't need to have exactly that interface as the one that was used in WCF service. You can write your own interface that looks like the interface on WCF service. Matching of method signatures is what matters.

You can use svcutil even though it requires login, you just need to authenticate first. I am not sure how it is performed through command line, but when I used Visual Studio to generate proxy classes for web services which require authentication, then I first authenticated in that "add service reference..." window, and then I was able to see the WSDL.

• Marked as answer by LeoTang Sunday, August 12, 2012 11:12 AM
    Monday, August 6, 2012 1:16 PM
  • Hi, if it is a channel factory that you intend to create then you require a binary dependancy against the service. For example, if I have a service that implements an interfacce called IMath, then I must also implment that interface on the client (This is done when svcutil is not used to generate a proxy)

<ServiceContract()> _
    Public Interface IMath
        <OperationContract()> _
        Function Add(ByVal A As Double, ByVal B As Double) As Double
    End Interface

If there are any composite types using [DataContract], you must define them also.