none
unresolved external symbol _wfopen RRS feed

• Question

• Please treat me as an absolute beginner in VS Express 2013, and also pretty raw at C programming! :-)

I'm writing a program to read a UTF-8 .txt file containing Win7 filenames containing UTF-8 characters (accented foreign characters, for example).  I then wish to do some processing on those names and write them back out to a UTF-8 batch file to run in a DOS window.

Here are a few pertinent extracts from my .C file:

#include <stdio.h>
    #include <stddef.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>
    #include <wchar.h>
    #include <string.h>
    #include <ctype.h>
    #include <io.h>
    #include <errno.h>
    #include <process.h>

#define UNICODE						// don't know if these actually achieve anything, but
    #define _UNICODE					// eventually I want the code to be UTF-8 compliant

void
    main(sShort_16 argCount, sChar_8 *argValue[])
    {

if ((listIn = _wfopen(ucOldNames, L"rt+, ccs=UTF-8")) == NULL)
    	{	// no file list
    		puts("\nCan't open file list!");
    		exit(1);
    	}

My problem is that compiling my program from a Developer Command Prompt for VS2013, using

cl makexxx.c

throws up this error (as well as a number of warnings):

unresolved external symbol _wfopen

My understanding is that _wfopen is an available function in VS Express 2013.  So why do I get this error, and how do I avoid it?

Thursday, May 23, 2019 5:47 AM

Answers

• OK, a number of good points made there, all noted.  And Darren, yes I'm using Visual Studio 2013 Express for Windows Desktop.

However, my problem is now solved.  I made a few changes following Tim's advice, including changing the first _wfopen back to a fopen.  But I still needed a second _wfopen as I was creating files whose filenames could contain Unicode characters.  At the same time, I thought it wise to change the encoding of my .C source file to UTF-8 (no BOM).