none
Export VB form data to Excel RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am completely new to Visual Basic, is there a way how to export text from TextBox in Visual Basic form into Excel cell.

Form done in VB on Visual Studio  (not in VBA)

Thanks,

Julie

Wednesday, May 10, 2017 3:32 PM

All replies

• If using Excel with the extension of .xlsx then look at SpreadSheetLight. In short you open an excel file using SLDocument class and use SetCellValue("B3", "Karen") which would place Karen in B3 of Sheet1. Finally use SaveAs of the SLDocument object to save changes.

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help, this will help others who are looking for solutions to the same or similar problem. Contact via my Twitter (Karen Payne) or Facebook (Karen Payne) via my MSDN profile but will not answer coding question on either.
    VB Forums - moderator
    profile for Karen Payne on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites

Wednesday, May 10, 2017 5:28 PM
  • Hi Julz90,

Firstly you could need to right-click Add Reference--Browse--Choose C:\Windows\assembly\GAC_MSIL, and then choose Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.dll.

And you can refer to the code below.

Private Sub Button2_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button2.Click
            Dim xlsWorkBook As Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.Workbook
            Dim xlsWorkSheet As Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.Worksheet
            Dim xls As New Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.Application

Dim resourcesFolder = IO.Path.GetFullPath("D:\")
            Dim fileName = "Book1.xlsx"

xlsWorkBook = xls.Workbooks.Open(resourcesFolder & fileName)
            xlsWorkSheet = xlsWorkBook.Sheets("Sheet1")

xlsWorkSheet.Cells(1, 1) = TextBox1.Text

xlsWorkBook.Close()
            xls.Quit()

MsgBox("file saved to " & resourcesFolder)

End Sub

Hope it is helpful to you.

Best Regards,

Cherry Bu

MSDN Community Support