Grid delete button - code behind

Question

• Hi,

I am new to this and am trying to wire up a delete button.  I have the below grid in a template where the grid is created each time depending on the number of items in the datasource (which selects the item name and the item ID).  I am trying to figure how I could pass what is the ID of the item selected for deleting to a delete command in the code behind. 

Most examples I have found relate to mvvm which I do not want to use at the moment.  I presume I use the button command function but I would appreciate how to do this.

Any tutorials links would also be greatly appreciated as this stuff is difficult to find.

Thanks

<Grid>
                                            <Grid.ColumnDefinitions>
                                                <ColumnDefinition Width="100"  />
                                                <ColumnDefinition Width="*" />
                                                <ColumnDefinition Width="Auto" />
                                            </Grid.ColumnDefinitions>
                                            <TextBlock Grid.Column="0" Foreground="{StaticResource GlyphButtonForeground}" FontWeight="Bold">
                                                <Run Text="Rates:" />
                                            </TextBlock>
                                            <Editors:TextEdit Grid.Column="1" Text="{Binding}"  ShowErrorToolTip="False">
                                            </Editors:TextEdit>
                                            <Button Grid.Column="2" Style="{StaticResource RemoveGlyphButton}"    Command="" />
                                        </Grid>

Sunday, July 20, 2014 11:53 PM

Answers

• Hi Ireland75,

Once you get the Grid, its should not be difficult to get the child from it, in your situation the TextEditor Text is the id, and it is the second UIElement in the Grid template, we can use following code: