Slow on azure ... help? RRS feed

• Question

• User-2033772850 posted

Hi there,

We are moving our site to azure, and I am noticing a significant speed difference -- the site is very slow on azure.  The database is an azure SQL.  I am a beginner.  I am hoping someone can point me to some basic troubleshooting steps to find the source of the slowness.

In case it's relevant, right now I open and close database connections several times on one page, rather than leaving the connection open a long time.  So the database connection may open and close several times as the page loads.  This is my basic code and connectionstring:

Dim sql
            Dim connectionString As String
            Dim dbconn As System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection
            Dim dbcomm As System.Data.SqlClient.SqlCommand
            Dim dbread As System.Data.SqlClient.SqlDataReader
            sql = "SELECT * FROM table"
            connectionString = ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings("MyConnectionString").ToString
            dbconn = New System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection(connectionString)
            dbconn.Open()
            dbcomm = New System.Data.SqlClient.SqlCommand(sql)
            dbcomm.Connection = dbconn
            dbread = dbcomm.ExecuteReader()
            If dbread.HasRows Then
                Do While dbread.Read()
                    'do stuff
                Loop
            End If
            dbread.Close()
            dbconn.Close()

And this is my connection string:

<add name="MyConnectionString"
       providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"        
       connectionString="Data Source=tcp:xxxx.database.windows.net,1433;Initial Catalog=xxxx;User ID=xxxx;Password=xxxxxx;"  />

Thursday, March 10, 2016 1:37 AM

Answers

• User-646145796 posted

Hi,