none
Export dtat from Excel to SQL using openxml RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all.,

I'm new in Openxml.

I want export data from excel to SQL table using open xml.

How to do?

Tahnks in Advance.

• Edited by Virendhar Tuesday, January 7, 2014 1:17 PM changes
    Tuesday, January 7, 2014 1:17 PM

Answers

• Hi,

It’s difficult to export data from excel spreadsheet to SQL Server Table with Open XML directly.

We could only get the data from Excel spreadsheet. Here is a sample to read the number format data from a spreadsheet. If the data is string format, we should get related data from the sharedStrings element.

static void ReadExcelFile(string fileName)
    {
        using (SpreadsheetDocument spreadsheetDocument = SpreadsheetDocument.Open(fileName, false))
        {
            WorkbookPart workbookPart = spreadsheetDocument.WorkbookPart;
            WorksheetPart worksheetPart = workbookPart.WorksheetParts.First();
            SheetData sheetData = worksheetPart.Worksheet.Elements<SheetData>().First();
            string text;
            foreach (Row r in sheetData.Elements<Row>())
            {
                foreach (Cell c in r.Elements<Cell>())
                {
                    text = c.CellValue.Text;
                    Console.Write(text + " ");
                }
            }
            Console.WriteLine();
            Console.ReadKey();
        }
    }

About how to import these data into a SQL table, you could consider posting it in the SQL Server related forum for more effective responses.

In my opinion, I think getting data from a spreadsheet with Open XML and then importing them into a SQL table is somehow complex, I suggest you resorting to ODBC driver to export the worksheet directly instead of using Open XML technology.