Data Modeling - implementing subtyping RRS feed

• Question

• I am fairly new to SQL and database creation. So far things are progressing nicely but I think I have hit a stumbling block with a super-subtype relationship btween one super type and 2 subtypes.

http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/1433/subtyping.jpg

That is how i have modeled the relationships. I need to satisfy both sub-typing and a one-many relationship. All seemed to be going well but after reading http://blogs.msdn.com/b/dfurman/archive/2009/08/31/disjoint-subtyping-in-sql.aspx this article I am certain I have not implimented the relationship correctly in my code.

Create table tblStaff(
    /*table attributes */
    staffNo char(4) not null,
    sFName varchar(30) not null,
    sSName varchar(30) not null,
    sAddress varchar(30) not null,
    sPostcode char(8) not null,
    sTelNo varchar(11) not null,
    sEmail varchar(30),
    sDOB varchar(10) not null,
    /*This attribute is set to allow a recursive relationship between Staff and Staff*/
    sSupervisorNo char(4),
    /*A subtype discrimination, stored as a column in the supertype (tblStaff) as a single character*/
    sPosition char(1) not null,

/*keys*/
    constraint staff_Pkey primary key(staffNo),

/*Constraints*/
    constraint staffNo_format check (staffNo between '0001' and '9999'),
    constraint staffNo_Uniquie UNIQUIE(staffNo),
    constraint staff_Postcodes check ((sPostcode like '[A-Z][A-Z][0-9][0-9][ ][0-9][A-Z][A-Z]') or (sPost_code like '[A-Z][A-Z][0-9][ ][ ][0-9][A-Z][A-Z]')),
    constraint staff_sTelNo check (sTelNo like '[0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9]'), 
    constraint staff_DOB check(sDOB like '[0-9][0-9][/][0-9][0-9][/][0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9]'),
    constraint sPosition_check check((sPosition = I) OR (sPosition = M)),
    ); /*End tblStaff*/

Create table tblInstructor(
    /*table attributes */
    instructorNo char(4) not null,
    iLevel char(3) not null,

/*keys*/