Help with EF 4.1 Database First RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there, I'm fairly new at Silverlight, and I just changed my whole project to use EF 4.1 Database first. I'm a little lost with the whole thing. The DbContext generater creates all my POCO classed ok, but I'm having a problem with my Silverlight app seeing them because of no entity key's. "The Entity x in DomainService y does not have a key defined. Entity types exposed by DomainService operations must have at least one public property marked with the KeyAttribute.  In my model, each of
    my Entities do have a Key defined, but when my classes are automatically generated, they do not have the [Key] attribute.

If I manually add the [Key] attribute to all of my classes, the Silverlight app builds and I can access the data. The problem is if I edit the model, and all my POCO classes are regenerated automatically, it removes the [Key], and then the Silverlight app is broken again.

What I'm I doing wrong? All the examples on the web for Ef 4.1 seem to be for MVC apps, and none of the examples even have the [Key] attribute for the POCO classes.  Is there a way to edit the T4 template to add the [Key] attribute to my classes?

Thanks, Scott

Tuesday, November 1, 2011 11:11 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi,

There's a few thing that very improtant does not exiting in Ef 4.1 codefirst. Because those func lives in SQL part. I might hate it.

You can try.

CodeFirstEF.

https://skydrive.live.com/?sc=documents&cid=b692c2cbad70a05c#cid=B692C2CBAD70A05C&id=B692C2CBAD70A05C%21127&sc=documents

Tuesday, November 1, 2011 11:16 AM
  • Where are your T4 templates for POCO coming from? Do you really need POCO? I use with RIA Services 'normal' Entities e.g. derived from Entity and have no problem with them. As I remember, using POCOs in this scenario is not straighforward.

FOLLOW UP