none
MS Access 2016 Combo Box RRS feed

• Question

• I'm an old gun VB developer from the <g class="gr_ gr_56 gr-alert gr_gramm gr_inline_cards gr_run_anim Punctuation only-del replaceWithoutSep" data-gr-id="56" id="56">90's,</g> since moved to SQL, Technical Business Analysis, Solution Architecture<g class="gr_ gr_103 gr-alert gr_gramm gr_inline_cards gr_run_anim Punctuation multiReplace" data-gr-id="103" id="103">....</g>

I need to build a quick Access Desktop frontend to survive the cut off of Access Services on SharePoint. We are small but 3 separate sites. So we want to just simply have a SQL Database on Azure with the Access Desktop app hitting that. This will functionally be exactly the same as the functioning Web App which the users love.

....... My Problem!

I need to use a combo box to display ref data from another table and of course just store the key to the table in each row of the dynamic table. That works fine but... it displays the key and not the value when you return to that row, which is not helpful. Most frustrating!

No doubt this is simple but I am not seeing it. Can some someone please help ... quickly if at all possible.

Thanking you in advance,

Rohan

Tuesday, February 6, 2018 4:18 AM

All replies

• I am not sure I understand but see the ComboBox.BoundColumn Property. The sample shows "how to create a combo box that is bound to one column while displaying another". Does that sound like what you need to do? I think that sample is not good because it uses "Select *" instead of specifying the relevant fields but that is a minor issue. I guess that the part of what you are saying that is confusing is that "the value" seems vague to me so I am not sure what you are askiing.

Sam Hobbs
    SimpleSamples.Info

Tuesday, February 6, 2018 5:06 AM
  • Hi Rohan Bacon,