none
I need to convert a VBscript to VB.Net RRS feed

• Question

• I have this vbscript code that tells you when if and who is logged into a remote PC. Usually in VB6 I could just paste it in and it would work just changing the input and outputs. I'm pretty new to VB.Net and I did try searching for similar code but I found nothing I could use. Can someone convert this script to a sample code.

strComputer = InputBox("Please enter computer name to check for currently logged in user activity:")

Set objWMIService = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" & strComputer & "\root\cimv2")

Set colItems = objWMIService.ExecQuery("Select * from win32_ComputerSystem",,48)For Each objItem in ColItems

MsgBox "Logged on user: " & StrComputer & ". Result:  " & objItem.username

Next

Thursday, June 29, 2017 3:06 PM

All replies

• Yes in VB.Net that is easier

MsgBox("Logged on user: " & environment.username)

Success
    Cor

• Proposed as answer by Cor Ligthert Thursday, June 29, 2017 3:23 PM
    • Unproposed as answer by Cor Ligthert Thursday, June 29, 2017 3:23 PM
    Thursday, June 29, 2017 3:19 PM
  • OT

The proposal was just to see if the reply would show up in the thread and it did while it was unshown before. 

Is this bug already reported?

Success
    Cor

Thursday, June 29, 2017 3:24 PM
  • That's great but I need it to do a remote PC.
    Thursday, June 29, 2017 3:31 PM
  • That's great but I need it to do a remote PC.

What do you mean with a remote PC. I thought that it was a PC bound by terminal services. Then what I wrote it is the cause. 

In other circumstances it fall in the context of code usable for Malicious intent, and then it is forbidden to give help for that in the context of this forum. 

Be aware the later is not about what you gonna do with it, it is just that it can be used by everybody who finds it. 

Success
    Cor

Thursday, June 29, 2017 3:58 PM
  • For example :

Dim sComputer As String = "your_computer_name"