Uploading dll to blob/storage and using import method RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

It's my first time asking here.

I have recently added a very large (16MB) external dll file which i use with "Add Reference".

The issue is that it takes me 20 minutes longer to upload my application

I want to know if it's possible to upload one time my external dll to my subscription blob/storage and calling the method i need to Import attribute (or a different way i don't know about) in order to remove the dll to be directly in my application and saving some upload time.

Thanks in advance.

• Edited by batzeki Sunday, November 20, 2011 10:07 AM
    Sunday, November 20, 2011 9:39 AM

Answers

• One approach I can think of is following:

1. Upload the external DDL to your blob storage

2. Use a startup task (and Windows Azure bootstrapper) to download it from the blob storage and put it into your app root folder.

There will be small challenge if you are using WebRole. Because then you will have to have this assembly into your sitesroot\0\BIN. But you can just download it to a local storage reosurce (using the bootstrapper) and add it to the GAC. Having your referecend assembly into the GAC shall be OK for all your code. One thing to remember though - remove the "Copy Local" => "True" flag for this reference. Set it back to "False" in order to stop this reference of being copied with the package.

Sunday, November 20, 2011 8:35 PM

All replies

• I think you have to download the whole assembly, but you can update project much faster after deployment
    Sunday, November 20, 2011 11:07 AM
  • One approach I can think of is following:

1. Upload the external DDL to your blob storage

2. Use a startup task (and Windows Azure bootstrapper) to download it from the blob storage and put it into your app root folder.