none
Unable to retrive an Identity value using Strongly Typed DataSet RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,
       I'm new to Visual studio 2005. I'm developing a small c# application to store data into database (SQL Server 2005 Express Edition). I used Strongly Typed DataSet for data access. Every thing is going right except retrieving the Identity value.

Partially I succeeded in retrieving the Identity value. I changed a line in the autogenerated code for the Dataset.Xsd file. Below is the Insert function automatically-generated. I replace the RED BOLD line as BLUE BOLD line.

[System.Diagnostics.DebuggerNonUserCodeAttribute()]
            [System.ComponentModel.Design.HelpKeywordAttribute("vs.data.TableAdapter")]
            [System.ComponentModel.DataObjectMethodAttribute(System.ComponentModel.DataObjectMethodType.Insert, true)]
            public virtual int Insert(string ChiefComplaint, string Description) {
                if ((ChiefComplaint == null)) {
                    throw new System.ArgumentNullException("ChiefComplaint");
                }
                else {
                    this.Adapter.InsertCommand.Parameters[0].Value = ((string)(ChiefComplaint));
                }
                if ((Description == null)) {
                    this.Adapter.InsertCommand.Parameters[1].Value = System.DBNull.Value;
                }
                else {
                    this.Adapter.InsertCommand.Parameters[1].Value = ((string)(Description));
                }
                System.Data.ConnectionState previousConnectionState = this.Adapter.InsertCommand.Connection.State;
                if (((this.Adapter.InsertCommand.Connection.State & System.Data.ConnectionState.Open)
                            != System.Data.ConnectionState.Open)) {
                    this.Adapter.InsertCommand.Connection.Open();
                }
                try {
                    int returnValue = this.Adapter.InsertCommand.ExecuteNonQuery();