Dropdownlist postback always select first item RRS feed

• Question

• User1146373797 posted

Hello, I am new at Asp.net. I hope some experts can help me.

I have 2 dropdownlist controls (ddl1 and ddl2). When I pick an item from ddl1, it will update ddl2. The problem is when I pick an item in ddl2, it always selects the first item in the list. Is it that the ddl2 autopostback causes the first ddl1 to reload and results the ddl2 to be refreshed also? Or I didn't set something correctly?

thanks in advance.
    hanvo

<asp:DropDownList ID="ddl1" runat="server" DataSourceID="sqldatasource1" DataTextField="FIELD1" DataValueField="FIELD1" AutoPostBack="True"> 
     <
    /asp:DropDownList>
    <asp:SqlDataSource ID="SqlDataSource1" runat="server" ConnectionString="<%$ ConnectionStrings:ConnectionString %>" 

ProviderName="<%$  ConnectionStrings:ConnectionString.ProviderName %>"

SelectCommand="SELECT A.FIELD1 FROM TABLE A"> 

</asp:SqlDataSource>

<asp:DropDownList ID="ddl2" runat="server" DataSourceID="SqlDataSource2 DataTextField="FIELD2" DataValueField="FIELD2" AutoPostBack="true" EnableViewState="true" >
    </asp:DropDownList>
    <asp:SqlDataSource ID="SqlDataSource2" runat="server" 

ConnectionString="<%$ ConnectionStrings:ConnectionString %>" 

ProviderName="<%$ ConnectionStrings:ConnectionString.ProviderName %>"
             SelectCommand="SELECT B.FIELD2 FROM TABLE B WHERE B.FIELD2 = :Param1"> 
        <SelectParameters>

<asp:ControlParameter ControlID="ddl1" Type="String" DefaultValue="" Name="Param1" PropertyName="SelectedValue" /> 
        </SelectParameters>

Wednesday, March 24, 2010 7:18 PM

Answers

• User849259894 posted

Why do have post back on dropdown list 2?  What does it's postback do?

Your 2nd dropdownlist is bound on SelectedIndexChanged event of the 1st dropdown list.  Choosing 2nd dropdown also causes post back.  May be you are resetting the selected value there?