none
Biztalk 2016 target framework RRS feed

• Question

• Hi 

I am trying to migrate biztalk projects from 2013 to BT 2016.

When I opened the solution in VS 2015 and tried to build each project and I noticed that target framework for C# library project , pipeline component project  is .Net framework 4.5.

Do I need to change the Target framework to 4.6

when I tried to build pipeline project I got warning stating 

There was a mismatch between the processor architecture of the project being built "MSIL" and the processor architecture of the reference

how to resolve this? Please help me out.

I am new to Biztalk and IT world

When you see answers and helpful posts, please click Vote As Helpful , Propose As Answer , and/or Mark As Answer

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 1:33 PM

All replies

• Yes, 4.6 is required for BizTalk 2016.
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 2:16 PM
  • So, keep in mind, Platform target and Target framework are different things.

First, make sure everything is set to MSIL for the Platform target.  A mismatch should only happen when referencing and x64 Assembly from an x86.

Also, references are downward compatible, meaning you can reference a .Net 4.5 Assembly from a 4.6 Assembly.  (You might be able to go both ways on this one...it's not as absolute as it used to be ;)

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 2:19 PM
  • Framework for BTS 2016 can be 4.7 with latest CUs applied (at least CU2)
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/mt763885.aspx

/Peter

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 2:40 PM
  • A couple of things will clear you out of this spaghetti:

• On Configuration Manager, select Debug solution configuration, select Any CPU on active solution platform.

• For all projects on the grid, make sure configuration is set to Debug and Platform is set to Any CPU, check Build and Deploy ( unless its not a project you want to deploy).