Where do I install the Visual Studio Controller and Agents? I want to run the load test in Visual Studio 2010 ultimate. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Team,

I am new to performance testing, using Visual Studio 2010 ultimate . Can we install and configure the Test Agents and Controller in the same machine where the Visual Studio 2010 ultimate has been installed. Will it cause any impact on the load test with 250 virtual users if i get it done on the same machine ?please advice me elaborately with the best possible solution.

Thank You.

Wednesday, February 5, 2014 7:05 AM

Answers

• Visual Studio Ultimate can create and run load tests without needing agents and controllers; Visual Studio includes all the required functionality.

Each virtual user in a test run consumes some CPU time and needs some memory in the computers running the tests. The reason for agents and controllers is to avoid overloading the CPU or runnning out of memory when lots of virtual users are active. Configuring agents and controllers in the same computer as Visual Studio will only decrease the resources available for virtual users. (I am not sure you can install and run agents and controllers on the same computer as Visual Studio.)

Agents and controllers are normally only needed when large numbers of virtual users are required. The maximum number of users that Visual Studio can handle from one computer without adding agents depends on several factors including: power and memory of that computer, test case duration, test case complexity, think times, numbers of plugins and extraction rules executed, etc. We use 250 as a first estimate of how many virtual users one computer can handle.

For your test with 250 virtual users I would suggest just use Visual Studio without adding any agents or controllers. Monitor the performance of the computer, using the load test graphs, as the tests run. If the computer seems overloaded then add an agent computer.

Regards

Adrian