The following forum(s) have migrated to Microsoft Q&A (Preview): Azure Active Directory!
Visit Microsoft Q&A (Preview) to post new questions.

Learn More

 locked
disabled accounts RRS feed

  • Question

  • Azure AD Connect synchronizes disabled accounts to Azure.  Why is it necessary to sync and manage disabled accounts? And if an account is licensed and gets disabled does that license free up?
    Tuesday, September 15, 2015 11:49 AM

Answers

  • It is recommended to synchronize disabled user accounts as they may be used for testing or if a user is locked out they would want access to their data.  A disabled account does still have a license assigned (if it was assigned a license), until you manually go in and remove the license from that account via the Office 365/Azure portal.  Remember that the Azure AD Connect, AADSync, DirSync utilities do not automatically license users when they are synchronized to Azure AD/Office 365.
    • Proposed as answer by Kamalakar Kamsani Tuesday, September 15, 2015 12:04 PM
    • Marked as answer by KarenV86 Tuesday, September 15, 2015 12:18 PM
    Tuesday, September 15, 2015 11:54 AM