none
Quick question about one primary key which needs more fields RRS feed

• Question

• Hello there,

I am using Access 07-10, and unfortunately I am quite new to it. I have been setting up a simple database for small company which basically needs to records the quotations it sends out, with different products (materials) per quotation. 

My issue is I have made a table called 'Quotations' where the primary key is the quotation number. The quotations all have different kinds of materials in different sizes, I want to put these all under one primary key but I am not sure how to proceed. The other tables will be a sales people list, and client list. The goal is to be able to query these tables with for example which materials are sold more often over different quotations.

My apologies for probably a very rudimentary question, I am studying several books about Access but didn't manage to find this out yet.

EDIT: I want to thank everyone for the replies, I am glad to find out this community is very helpful. One additional questions for readers, what literature would you recommend to learn about Access?

• Edited by Juliandu Friday, October 30, 2015 2:08 AM
    Thursday, October 29, 2015 4:37 AM

All replies

• Hello Juliandu,

Instead of having only a "Quotations" table, I would suggest to create two other tables and create relationships with them. On this way, you can surely structure the query you want. Please look into the image shown below. On each table, I identified fields that you may need in your application.

Sincerely,

Ed

Dr. Mindweb

Thursday, October 29, 2015 6:11 AM
  • Hi,

Create or modify a primary key

Set the primary key

For a primary key to work well, the field must uniquely identify each row, never contain an empty or null value, and rarely (ideally, never) change. To set the primary key:

1. Open the database that you want to modify.