Boilerplate text switchboard. RRS feed

• Question

• Dear all.

I'm an absolute beginner at this, so I'm sorry it this sounds too basic. 

I'm trying to write a program that will function as a boilerplate menu, so I can insert text strings into Word. 

Let me describe it in more detail. I will have a window docked on the right side of the screen, which will contain a number of check boxes with symptoms, such as "decreased appetite", "fatigue", and so forth. I want to be able to click to select any number of symptoms, and then concatenate all of those strings into a list of symptoms separated by commas, then finally ending with a period at the end of the statement. The sentence will then be inserted into a word document, or into an active field in whatever active window.

Any thoughts on how to do this?

Thanks
    Niels
    Sunday, February 7, 2010 9:20 PM

Answers

• To start with I guess the simplest thing would be to add a listbox to a form and fill it with these symptoms.  Then when the user clicks a button to "process" these selections you can iterate through the SelectedItems collection on the listbox and concatenate the string values that were selected.

The code below illustrates this very simply.  Please note that I am just showing you how to get the selected items and create a comma-separated string out of the values.  I do not really work with Word automation so I am not including it.  I would strongly suggest you start a new thread for the Word part when you get to it.  Also note that I am using a StringBuilder to concatenate.  While you coud just use the "&=" operator to continually add to a string variable, this is a bad practice and can hurt app performance when you are working with large numbers of strings.  So I am trying to show you a habit that is worth getting used to.

*To run this code just create a new forms project and paste this code behind the empty Form1.  Do not add a ny controls to the form - it is done for you here in the code.