Localized GridView RRS feed

• Question

• User807845033 posted

I am trying to figure out how to set the headings in my gridview control using a resource file and wondering if anyone can help.  I am just learning this stuff but have figured out how to use expressions and such to set this stuff up but it doesn't include access to the table headings themselves.  At least not that I've seen.

Thanks

glenn

Wednesday, May 9, 2007 4:58 PM

Answers

• User807845033 posted

Nevermind, I figured it out...

glenn

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Thursday, May 10, 2007 11:03 PM

All replies

• User807845033 posted

just bumping to see if anyone can help me.  I heard this was easy but so far not figuring it out.

Thanks,

glenn

Thursday, May 10, 2007 6:06 PM
  • User807845033 posted

Nevermind, I figured it out...

glenn

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Thursday, May 10, 2007 11:03 PM
  • User-999598023 posted

Can you please share your solution on the forum?

Friday, May 11, 2007 4:37 AM
  • User807845033 posted

Sure:

To do a basic asp:label and localize it you would do something like this:

<asp: Label ID=lblHello runat="server" meta:resourcekey="lblHello" Text="Hello World"></asp: Label>

This is quite straight forward in that you would create a localresource file and add an entry to it that had the key of lblHello and a value of whatever you wanted.  Noting that its NOT case sensitive.

When working with a grid there are a number of things exposed that I didn't at first understand, mainly because of the lack of actual explanation on the subject.  But the fact is, the meta:resourcekey= line does not in fact rely at all on the ID of the field element.  This simple entry just tells the control that its added to, to attempt to find anything that might be of use to it within the local resource file if it exists.  If there is nothing of use then do normal stuff.