none
LINQ query fields to String RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm new at LINQ.

I need some help... I have a code that brings to a datagridview the information from a database and it shows perfect. The problem is that I need to save each field of the database table, into a string. For example

Name       Age

May          22

String1 = May

String2 = 22

And I've read a lot of articles, forums and blogs and I can't find anything similar.

Please help me figure this out.

• Moved by Vicky SongMicrosoft employee Thursday, May 24, 2012 6:02 AM (From:Visual Studio Database Development Tools (Formerly "Database Edition Forum"))
    Wednesday, May 23, 2012 9:33 PM

Answers

• Hi nacho110987;

This query is in the wrong syntax.

Dim fields= From proof In db.Customers _
                Select New With 
                {
                    ' field in the below line is revieving 
                    ' the results of the query as can be seen from the first line
                    ' it should be the local variable of the query "proof"
                    .City = fields.City.ToString()
                }

The query should be as follows:

Select New With _
                { _
                    .City = proof.City.ToString() _
                }

To your question, "But when I try to use the ".City" I become confused. e.g. msgbox(City)", the above query and all Linq queries return a collection of objects and in this case a collection of IEnumerable(Of Anonymous) types unless the query is acted upon by one of the methods that causes only one element to be returned such as the method First or Single. So to show all the cities you need to enumerable the collection such as the following:

For Each c in fields
        ' Note that c represents a single Anonymous type that contains
        ' one property called City of type string.
        MessageBox.Show(c.City)
    Next

To find out how many cities are in the collection you can do the following:

fields.Count()

Fernando (MCSD)