Contact Selector does not show updated Active Directory information RRS feed

• Question

• I have a InfoPath 2007 form with a contact selector.  When selecting a certain person in the selector, that person's department shows old information.  I have verified that the information in Active Directory is showing the new department for that person. 

How do I get the updated information in the selector?

FYI - I am new to InfoPath and I inherited this form from someone else.

Monday, March 28, 2011 2:53 PM

Answers

• The data comes from the User Information List, which is specific to the site collection.  This list is actually driven by the UserInfo table in the content database, and there is a record per person per site collection.  it is not synced with the profile database and therefore does not get updated when profile syncs occur.  To update a user, you must remove them from the UIL and re-add.
    SharePoint Architect || Microsoft MVP || My Blog
    Planet Technologies || SharePoint Task Force
    • Marked as answer by SquishyPBJ Wednesday, March 30, 2011 3:23 PM
    Wednesday, March 30, 2011 7:13 AM
  • I'd like to try your suggestion of updating the UIL.  Can you tell me how I would do this?

User profile is correct on the MySites side and in Active Directory.  Verified both by looking at them.

Thank you for your help!

Go to the User Information List in your site collection and remove that user from the site collection by going here:
    Wednesday, March 30, 2011 2:12 PM

All replies

• The contact selector in InfoPath 2007 doesn't point to Active Directory.  Rather, it points to the User Profile stored in SharePoint.   The User Profile is synchronized (usually on a nightly basis) with Active Directory.  The attributes synched with User Profile and the frequency in which they are synched  is set up by the SharePoint administrator in Configuration Management.
    Monday, March 28, 2011 3:45 PM