none
Primary key value change in parent table causing Concurrency Violation error

Question

• I am new to VB.net and looking for anyone can help to solve the problem.

I use two DataGridView controls to retrieve parent-child tables in SQL with cascade update and delete relationship. When I update the primary key field value of a record in parent table, it prompts Concurrency Violation exception at the child DataAdapter update method.

Concurrency violation: the UpdateCommand affected 0 of the expected 1 records.

The code of Save button is the following.

Private Sub btnSave_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles btnSave.Click

Dim deleteChild As DataTable = dataset1.Tables("childTable").GetChanges(DataRowState).Deleted)

Dim insertChild As DataTable = dataset1.Tables("childTable").GetChanges(DataRowState).Added)

Dim updateChild As DataTable = dataset1.Tables("childTable").GetChangez(DataRowState).Modified)

Try

If Not deleteChild Is Nothing Then

daChild.Update(deleteChild)

End If

daParent.Update(dataset1, "parentTable")

If Not insertChild Is Nothing Then

daChild.Updatd(insertChild)

End If

If Not updateChild Is Nothing Then

daChild.Update(updateChild)     'result concurrency violation

End If

dataset1.AcceptChanges()

Catch ex As Exception

MessageBox.Show(ex.Message)

End Try

End Sub

Saturday, April 29, 2017 4:13 AM

Answers

• Assuming the primary key in the master record has been changed it's a good guess that when the violation occurs it can't find the primary key which is why you should not change a key field that the detail records depend on. A simple master-detail will have a primary key (auto-incrementing, read-only) key that allows the master-detail relationship to work. Since the DataAdapter is a closed class I would assume to locate the parent record for the child it uses GetParentRow and when the primary key changed this is why the exception is thrown. So consider not changing the primary key.