none
Re-usable Login Interface (help) RRS feed

• Question

• Hey guys.  I'm pretty new to object-oriented design.  I've been working in VB.NET for about 2 months now.  I'm trying to layout the design for a project I'm working on and I'd like to get some opinions on the overall structure.

Here's the concept:

I need to design a common WPF login form component that can be used as the login interface for multiple client-server applications.

Some of the applications that call this component will interact with a MSSQL server/database, some will interact with MySQL server/database, and some will have the ability to interact with both.

The login form for a MSSQL server application will contain the following elements:

Server name (combo box)
    Database name (combo box)
    Use Windows Authentication (checkbox)
    User name (text box)
    Password (check box)

The login form for a MySQL application will be similar except it will not include the "Use Windows Authentication" checkbox.  The login form for an application that can login to either server type will have an extra radio button to indicate which one to use.  Selecting the "MSSQL" radio button option would enable the "Use Windows Authentication" checkbox.

Some of the functions required of each of the concrete "ServerLogin" objects will be "GetAvailableDatabases", "BrowseNetworkServers", "GetLoginHistory", etc.

I need to bind the UI elements to a backing object.  Should I create an abstract base "ServerLogin" class and then have two sub-classes "MSSQLLogin" and "MySQLLogin" and let form load event decide which type of object to instantiate based on the application's stated requirement? 

Here are some questions I've been pondering:
    1. Is inheritance appropriate here or is there a better approach?
    2. Should the UI-bound object be considered a "Server" or is "ServerLogin" more appropriate?
    3. Should I be looking into using the Factory Method design pattern?