none
Using DataContext with "Using" statement -- Does connection get cleaned up? RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hey Folks.

I have a two-part Master/Detail Table where the child Table actually has multiple parents.  Something along the lines of this:

Child Table:
    Transactions: [ code, partNumber, quantity, etc, etc]

PurchasingTransaction [ code, creator, receiver, dateCreated, etc, etc]

ReceivingTransaction [ code, creator, stubNumber, dateReceived, receivingClerk, etc...]

So that I have one child table that contains references to multiple parent tables. This is a requirement of the customer.

To implement this I have created a stored procedure as the only insert method for the Parent tables.

This takes a sequence value in for example PurchasingTransaction and adds a prefix to denote it is a "Purchase" eg takes sequence 30 and adds to it PR30. Child records in Transactions  are then added with a "PR30" column value and the view joins it with the proper table as no other parent table can have a key with "PRXXXX"...

Aaaaaaanyways. That brings me to the point of my quesrtion.

Because when I enter a master/detail record and line items in my code in a transaction, the "PR30" or whatever newly created transaction number is returned from my stored procedure and used to populate the "Transactions" table. Because of this I am calling SqlCommand.ExecuteScalar() instead of using DataContext.table.InsertOnSubmit(myPurchaseObject), so that I can get the value returned to me within the transaction, without having to make an additional query.

My code looks something like this

private void InsertPurchaseRequestTransaction(PDC_LINQ.PurchasingTransaction newPurchase)

{

using (PDC_LINQ.PDCDataContext myPDC = new PDC_LINQ.PDCDataContext())

{

myPDC.Connection.Open();

using (SqlTransaction ts = myPDC.Connection.BeginTransaction() as SqlTransaction)

{

newPurchase.dateCreated = DateTime.Now;

//attach Transaction to the DataContext

myPDC.Transaction = ts;