none
POCO With EF4.1 Adds Entity instead of updates RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have been trying to figure out this for hours now to no avail. I have a simple method that takes a POCO entity class called Applicant as a parameter and updates an existing entity to the value specified in the parameter. I am aware of the object graph not syncing in some cases but after stepping through the code.

I've noticed that EF does track the changes when a property changes but somehow still manages to screw up the SaveChanges() call by inserting instead of updating the entity. This is very confusing as the Entity state right before the SaveChanges call is actually 'Modified'...this should generate an update right?.

I am a little new to the POCO code-first approach so I've followed the article : http://blogs.msdn.com/b/adonet/archive/2011/01/27/using-dbcontext-in-ef-feature-ctp5-part-1-introduction-and-model.aspx and created a DbContext class with the specified collection of my entities.

My method that I call to update the Applicant Entity looks as follow:

If Anyone can tell me why it adds an Applicant and not update, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks.

Mike

public Applicant UpdateApplicant(Applicant applicant)
      {
       using (DatabaseContext context = new DatabaseContext())
       {
        try
        {
         context.Configuration.LazyLoadingEnabled = false;
         //Find checks whether the object is in the object stack first before hitting the back end

Applicant applicantToEdit = context.Applicants.Find(applicant.Id); //State is unchanged here
         applicantToEdit.ApplicantType = applicant.ApplicantType;
         applicantToEdit.Name = applicant.Name; // State shows modified

context.Entry(applicantToEdit).State = EntityState.Modified; //forcing it to modified? 
         int number = context.SaveChanges(); //Buggers up here and creates a new Applicant instead of updating an existing one
         return applicantToEdit;
        }