Non-MFC Button Controls RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I'm new to Windows Mobile programming.
    Q:
    I need to create two different buttons on a simple Windows Mobile application screen.
    I'm not sure how the controls are passed between WM_Paint and the button controls.
    Are there code examples out there where they show how to implment these non-MFC button handlers
    eg, where on the touchscreen phone, on tapping the button, it brings me to another screen.

Thank you
    Thursday, April 30, 2009 4:03 AM

Answers

• There are lots of ways to do this. The most popular are:
    1. Use a window handle for each button. You create a custom class for your buttons and essentially handle the WM_PAINT, WM_LBUTTONDOWN, WM_LBUTTONUP and maybe WM_ERASEBKGND. You should paint the window differently according to its state: pressed or released. When you "release" the button (WM_LBUTTONUP) you should send a WM_COMMAND message to the parent to notify that the button was pressed. If you want this control to work in a dialog you will have to implement more message handlers, like WM_SETFOCUS and WM_KILLFOCUS.
    2. Paint the button in the container window directly. You will have to handle the same messages as before but on the container window. Each button will have its own RECT and this is how you what button the WM_LBUTTONDOWN and WM_LBUTTONUP messages refer to. The advantage of this approach is speed: having more child windows just makes the user interface run slower. The disadvantage is added work fore you.

João Paulo Figueira (Device Application Development MVP)
    • Marked as answer by warrentang Wednesday, May 6, 2009 3:15 AM
    Thursday, April 30, 2009 9:09 AM

All replies

• There are lots of ways to do this. The most popular are: