foreach loop iteration RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have designed one package where i use foreachloop container task. I have one directory which has 4 txt files and i am reading those files and dump into sql server table. But i want to read only one file at a time. When i excute that package it reads all four files and at the end i have used file system task which move those files from one dir to another dir. When source dir is empty, it stops lopping proces. I do not want that one. As i said i want to read or get only one file at a time and move to specified dir. How can i do it?.

Thanks,

Shalin

Thursday, July 7, 2011 6:22 PM

Answers

• @SUDEEP - I am not able to use file system task outside of loop becaus i have used source variable which is related with foreachloop container.

Guys thanks for all ans....

but is there any other way?

i am not good with vb.net or C# so i do not know how to write code for that.

Thanks,

shalin

• Marked as answer by Shalin83 Friday, July 8, 2011 6:26 PM
    Friday, July 8, 2011 2:23 PM

All replies

• And which one? Just a random one? The oldest/newest?
    Please mark the post as answered if it answers your question | My SSIS Blog: http://microsoft-ssis.blogspot.com
    Thursday, July 7, 2011 6:28 PM
  • newest one. I mean if there are 4 files already in that folder and if i want to read them one by one. it should be read 1st file, process package and then it should stop. it should not look for next file at the same time. What is happening now... when i run it, it reads all 4 four files and moved it to archive dir.

Make sense?

Shalin

Thursday, July 7, 2011 6:36 PM
  • @SSISJoost: Nice One :)

@Shalin83: Correct me if i am wrong. you are getting the file name in a variable in the for each loop right and you must be using this variable to read the file and once it is dumped in SQL move it to other location using a dataflow and file system task inside the For each Loop