none
How to allow a combo box to be left blank or skipped on a form RRS feed

• Question

• I am relatively new to Access and any SQL and VBA I have picked up is self-taught, so I would really appreciate answers that are not too heavily laden with technical terms...that said, I am having an issue with allowing comboboxes to be left blank on a form if the user chooses not to input data. Also, I am using Access 2016.

Initially the problem I ran into was that if a combobox was entirely skipped and left blank, or if the user selects the combobox and then tries to move on without making a selection from the list, they got the error "You tried to assign the Null value to a variable that is not a Variant data type," and were unable to move on to any other fields on the form or to save the record being entered.

I found this MSDN article (sorry, I guess I can't post direct links::  https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/office/ff823177.aspx ) that details a possible solution, but I can't seem to get it to work. I made an unbound combobox, set the Row Source to:

SELECT EmailID, PersonalEmail FROM EmailT  UNION SELECT "<N/A>","<N/A>" FROM EmailT
    ORDER BY PersonalEmail;

where PersonalEmail is a field of type short text and the EmailID is an autonumber. I also followed the article's steps for formatting the combobox (column width, etc.) and set it to Limit to List = Yes.

Here is my exact code in the After Update and the On Current events:

Private Sub Combo62_AfterUpdate()
    If Combo62 = "<N/A>" Then
        EmailID = Null
    Else
        EmailID = Combo62
    End If
    End Sub

Private Sub Form_Current()
    If IsNull(EmailID) Then
        Combo62 = "<N/A>"
    Else
        Combo62 = EmailID
    End If
    End Sub

< N/A> now shows up on my list, but if it is selected I get the error: "The value you entered isn't valid for this field. For example, you may have entered text in a numeric field or a number that is larger than the FieldSize setting permits."