none
Visio Callthis not working RRS feed

• Question

• Hi. Please somebody help me. 

I'm a real beginner with VBA in Visio. 

To practice, I've created following procedure in the module called, module1. 

Public Sub Connection_mgmt(ByRef shpIn As Shape)
    Dim shp As Shape
    Dim shp_name As Variant

shp_name = shpIn.Name

MsgBox ("test")

UserForm2.Show

End Sub

I just wanted to see if this procedure works when I double click a specific shape in the diagram. In ShapeSheet, this is what I did in "EventDblClick" cell, 

=CALLTHIS("Connection_mgmt")

However... when I double click the shape.. nothing happens..

I have no idea what I need to go to test this procedure. Could someone please give me advice?

Thank you so much in advance. 

Wednesday, April 9, 2014 3:32 AM

Answers

• I suspect it is not a visio problem, rather it is a vba coding issue. You have defined shp_name as a variant, which requires you to use a 'Set' to apply a value.

to debug : put a stop at the subroutine and make sure it is being called (if not make sure your trust options are set correctly (trust vba, a trusted path, etc.), you can then use 'stops' to step through the routine to see if the  variables are acting correctly

consider :

dim shp_Name as visio.shape

set shp_Name = shpIn

dim strName as string

strName = shpIn.nameU

debug.print strName

' or

debug.print shpIn.nameu

' or

debug.print shp_name.nameu

al edlund

Al Edlund Visio MVP

• Marked as answer by Marvin_Guo Wednesday, April 23, 2014 1:36 AM
    Monday, April 14, 2014 12:46 PM

All replies

• Hi,

This is the forum to discuss questions and feedback for Microsoft Visio, I'll move your question to the MSDN forum for Visio

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/home?forum=officegeneral&filter=alltypes&sort=lastpostdesc