A booking or shopping system as SPA? RRS feed

• Question

• User434878223 posted

Hello,

I am very new in SPA and still learning about it and I would like to start a new project for a booking and shopping system.

Is it a good idea to makea SPA or just simple MVC application will be better and less complicated? Are there any simple examples regarding that?

On the other hand, which template could be most comprehensive and quick implementable for my purpose? 

- I know more about knockout.js but I see that Hot Towel SPA template is highly recomended.

Thanks for your help.

Monday, October 28, 2013 11:59 PM

All replies

• User-105429085 posted

For me, it will be depending on if your project is going to involve with other clients (i.e. native mobile apps).

If it's website only, MVC will be easier with less client code to debug. There are existing MVC tutorials and projects for such system, such as http://www.asp.net/mvc/tutorials/mvc-music-store

If it's going to involve many different type of clients, SPA + WebAPI approach wil be best for you.

Hot Towel SPA uses knockout.js as well, so it should be an easy choice for you.

If you use SPA, take a look of VS2013 SPA project to see how it handles authentication.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013 1:02 AM
  • User-1620313041 posted

In addition to xinqiu

Of course implementing the application in Mvc is easier. In general, the classic "web pattern" is the easiest way to keep modularity and separation of concern in a complex application because communication between modules takes place through a relational database, thus avoiding direct communication among modules that might undermine the modularity of the application: it is enough to use the repository pattern and layering the application into UI, business and data layers, to ensure modularity and to avoid "spaghetti code", since database based communication takes care of mantaining separation between modules that perform different tasks.