none
visual studio 2010 Tools for Office runtime install error RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to install the visual studio runtime for 2010 on a windows 7 machine to support an outlook addin from Icewarp mail server. It is blowing up with a file access error indicating I don't have access to a file, yet I am an administrator on the local computer. The installer was included in the Icewarp client install. I also downloaded it manually from Microsoft with the same result. I also cleaned all the temp files and tried it again with no luck. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. This client package has installed successfully on at least 15 other computers with similar configurations.

Here is the error I get whether I use the Icewarp installer or if I download the installer from here:http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20479

"Error 1310:Error writing to file: Microsoft.VisualStudio.Tools.Applications.Contract.v10.0.dll. Verify that you have access to that directory."

Options are retry or cancel.

I am running on an id that is in the administrators group and I have downloaded the installer and tried it using "Run as administrator" with no luck.

Please give me an idea what folder it is trying to write this file to.

• Edited by Forrest GuoModerator Wednesday, August 15, 2012 3:23 AM VSTO 2010 runtime install error
    • Moved by Forrest GuoModerator Wednesday, August 15, 2012 3:24 AM vsto runtime install (From:Visual Studio Setup and Installation)
    Wednesday, August 1, 2012 10:06 PM

All replies

• Hi Scomage,

Thanks for your post.

After a research of this issue, it seems the file location is like this:

x86:

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VSTA\Pipeline.v10.0\Contracts\Microsoft.VisualStudio.Tools.Applications.Contract.v10.0.dll

x64:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\microsoft shared\VSTA\Pipeline.v10.0\Contracts\Microsoft.VisualStudio.Tools.Applications.Contract.v10.0.dll