version history in infopath form RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,
    Am working on infopath 2007 for the workflow. I have couple of questions on developing infopth form,
    I need to make some of the infopath fields readonly once they fill the data and submit at first time. And ...How to get version history of specific infopth form field? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
    Friday, February 26, 2010 7:11 PM

Answers

• Hi Bob,
    Thanks for your quick reply. I htink rules means I need to enable digital signatures??. and I am new to this environment. Is there any way to keep my data in sharepoint instead version history i.e. report generation or?? which is the best and easy option for me to do this?. Thanks.

You can use SharePoint’s built-in version history to track changes. Though it’s not specifically for individual fields it is for overall form. As the data submitted by InfoPath to SharePoint is an XML document, there is no functionality in SharePoint to do a Text difference inside the files. So you need to do the following in order to track the history for columns in more readable and user friendly manner without using any code

1. Make sure that the InfoPath form is submitted to any custom forms library of your choice.
    2. While submitting the form, make sure that you are promoting the columns for which you want to view/track the version history
    3. Now once the form library is created with columns you want to track, add a new calculated column for each promoted column. E.g. if form has “col1” which is promoted to SharePoint then create a calculated column called “col1_version” and click on column “col1” from the list box “Insert Columns:” into “Formula:” box. Do this for each promoted column. So if you have 10 promoted column then you will have to create 10 calculated columns.
    4. Now fill up the form and submit to this library.