Document Library Version Control doesn't work properly RRS feed

• Question

• WSS only not MOSS

I'm really new to SharePoint (don't you just love it when a post starts with that?), and I am having a challenge with versioning and document rejection by an approver. What happens is after publishing a document (can be a word or excel file) by approver, meaning it's at version 1.0 (minor and major versioning set in doc lib) and someone with edit capability changes the file the changes are visible to someone with read only before approval or after rejection. Also the status is not correct either, the reader sees the status as approved when it fact it is pending or has been rejected and I figure they should see version 1.0, and they do see a version 1.0 but it's the file in process (with changes). The approver sees it as rejected and it's the proper version, the editor (author) sees it as approved but with changes??? 

1.) Am I missing some basic concept? 

What I'm wondering is has anyone ran into this? I've searched the help, faq's, service pack 1 information and cannot find anything on this. We don't even have service pack 1 installed and cannot install it until a project is finished so as not to compromise an ongoing project with challenges that can sometime happen with upgrades, so telling us to install it to see it that fixes is not a solution we can use, but I searched the Service pack 1 anyway to see if it had been addressed or was it just ME..(LOL)

2.) Has there been similar problems I'm not finding in issues? (Could just be me not searching in proper location)

I have read WSS help as it relates to versioning and have all items set properly such as:

Requiring content approval.. - Yes

Who should see draft item... - Only approvers and author. ..etc...