none
Updating or inserting new records using a queried table in entity framework RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

(I’m a c# student still. My apology, if this is a stupid question).

I would like to know if there is a way to edit the data in a datagrid in wpf after its itemsource property is set.

For example this code is executed and the datagrid displays the results:

var query = from p in care_Treatment_UnlimitedEntities.Patients

join pm in care_Treatment_UnlimitedEntities.Patients_Medical_Aids on p.File_Number equals pm.Patient_ID

join m in care_Treatment_UnlimitedEntities.Medical_Aids on pm.Medical_Aid_ID equals m.Medical_Aid_ID

select new {Name = p.Name,med = m.Name};

dataGrid1.ItemsSource = query;

When I try to double click and edit the information in the datagrid, nothing happens. I know that because of the ‘select new {}’ phrase, it creates anonymous types or something and therefore I cannot edit the entities. But, how else can I select certain columns from multiple tables and edit it based on their relationship? I don’t want the user to edit each table individually and then afterwards make associations between different records.

Sunday, September 16, 2012 2:33 PM

Answers

• Hi LLoots;

I have only dabbled with WPF and I have not been able to put aside enough time to get over the steep learning curve so I will explain how I would do it and leave the coding to you.

To your question, "How would I go about saving the changes back to the database by using this concrete class.", I would modify the concrete type to store the primary keys for the two fields Name and MED. So I would create the class like this: 

public class PatientsMedical_Aids
    {
        public string Name { get; set; }
        public string Med { get; set; }
        public int NamePrimaryKey { get; set; }
        public int MedPrimaryKey { get; set; }
    }

// Then in the query change it like this:

var query = (from p in care_Treatment_UnlimitedEntities.Patients