none
Using two short text fields as Primary Key RRS feed

• Question

• I am a small business owner and am attempting to build an MSAccess DB for our customer info.  It will have multiple tables and different sources but all the info relates to a customer's LastName and FirstName.  Much to my surprise, I am unable to designate the two different fields as Primary Keys in Design View.  Each field contains duplicates; however, the two field together uniquely identify a row/record.  Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong?  Thanks!
    Friday, March 31, 2017 6:38 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Although what you're trying to do is possible, it would be simpler, in my humble opinion, to use a single numeric field as a primary key.

However, if you insist in using the two fields, go to the Index window and select the second field just below the first one without specifying an index name.

Hope it helps...

Friday, March 31, 2017 6:53 PM
  • I don't think FirstName+LastName is really safe as a primary key, as there are lots and lots of people with the same first & last names.  You *may* have some other information about the customers that could safely serve as a primary key, but it's probably safest and simplest to use an autonumber field for the primary key, and just use the last name & first name in lookups.

That said, you should certainly be *able* to set a compound primary key comprising those two fields.  If, in table design view, you select both fields and then click the "Primary Key" icon on the ribbon, that should do it.  However, if the fields are not adjacent -- so you can't use Shift+Click to select them -- then I think you can't use Ctrl+Click to select non-adjacent fields.  In that case, you need to build the primary key in the Indexes dialog.

Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
    Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

• Proposed as answer by GorancoB Sunday, April 2, 2017 6:49 PM
    Friday, March 31, 2017 7:42 PM