Login failed for user 'DOMAIN\MACHINENAME$', IIS and SQL Server on same machine RRS feed

• Question

• User1733860820 posted

I am using webdeploy to publish an asp.net project to a server on my LAN, using integrated security via Active Directory. When I try to run the site I get this error

Login failed for 'mydomain\servername$'

I've found some pretty in depth thread about this issue and have tried many settings, none of which have worked so far.

Adjustments I've made:

[1] in IIS change the websites application pool process model identity. I've tried all of the built in accounts and several custom accounts

[2] in SQL Server, which runs on the same server as IIS, I've added various accounts like mydomain\servername$, then NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK SERVICE, then IIS APPPOOL\appname, then mydomain\myaccount (I'm a domain admin).

[3] Generally I correlate the app pool account and the sql server login.

I get exactly the same error for all of the variations (well some minor exception details vary). I've restarted IIS multiple times, though I've not read that this is needed after changes like these. What settings should work?

Wednesday, April 29, 2020 3:33 AM

Answers

• User753101303 posted

Seems fine but you should see machinename$ only for a "Built-in account". Try perhaps to "Recycle..." or Start/Stop the application pool once done. You should also have "View applications" link in the "Action" pane to see which sites are using this application pool and make sure it is the one you expect.

Edit; also you don't have <identity impersonate="true" /> in your web.config? If yes, remove that and try again.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Wednesday, April 29, 2020 7:08 PM

All replies

• User475983607 posted

Generally this is very very simple.  The SQL login must match the web site's application pool identity.   Or you use the builtin accounts.  Locally accounts resolve as 

NetworkService -> builtin\network.