Events (in C++)

Question

• I'm still somewhat new to C++, coming from a C# background.  I'm in the midst of making a Windows 8 "metro" game.

Now I'm in the need to use events in my game, and am at a loss as the proper way to implement them.  I've seen and heard many approaches:

1. Using WinRT classes, I can actually have delegates and events.  Unfortunately, I decided early on that I didn't want to have to put "ref" on every single one of my classes, so I've more or less steered away from that.  Unless I'm wrong, please correct me.  But, that would mean that both the firing class and the subscriber would have to be "ref" classes, no?  Then, any classes the subscriber inherits from would also need to be "ref."

2. I could use function pointers, sounded like a good choice.  Despite everyone saying that the syntax looks ugly, I thought it looked a little elegant.  But, then I learned that I can't simply use function pointers, but I need to use member function pointers (method pointers).  Couldn't find a whole lot of information when googling that.

3. Use deprecated (or soon to be deprecated) "[event_source(native)]" and [event_reveiver(native)]" approach.  Which would also mean using __hook and other ugly syntax.  Not to mention this is mostly designed for COM.

4. Use a library called Boost.  Despite the fact that I'm using a library for a problem that seems like it should be solved at the language level, I tried downloading it.  I don't know if it works on Windows 8, but I couldn't get it installed.  Also, I was told that it works with a lot of Win32, which is not good for a "metro" app.

Any help/advice?  Thanks.

Thursday, October 4, 2012 4:48 PM

Answers

• Hi,